News and Views on Tibet

Tibetan journalist body elects 9th executive team for 2020-23

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter

By Choekyi Lhamo

DHARAMSHALA, July 29: The members of the Association of Tibetan Journalists (ATJ) elected its 9th executive team for 2020-23 on Friday during the general body meeting and dinner gathering in Dharamshala.

The four newly elected members have decided to rotate responsibilities alternately between them during the mandated term. As of now, ATJ’s executive team consists of President Tenzin Dorjee from Voice of Tibet, Vice-President Choekyi Lhamo from Phayul, Accountant Lobsang Tenchoe from Tibet Express, and Cashier Passang Tsering from Tibet Times.

The general body meeting attended by majority of the current members saw the outgoing executive committee present a detailed summary of the projects completed during their term along with recommendations. The members also discussed possible amendments to the rules of the journalists’ body and also deliberated on future projects. The handover from the outgoing to the new committee was completed on Tuesday.

The Association of Tibetan Journalists, a registered organization, was established in 1997 in Dharamshala, India. The journalists’ body has members from eight different Tibetan media outlets with 36 journalists currently registered with the association. 

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *