News and Views on Tibet

Dalai Lama congratulates Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim CMs on election victories

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
(L-R) CM Prem Singh Tamang of Sikkim and CM Pema Khandu of Arunachal Pradesh

By Tenzin Nyidon 

DHARAMSHALA, June 3: The foremost Tibetan spiritual leader His Holiness the Dalai Lama extended his heartfelt congratulations on Monday to Pema Khandu, Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, and Prem Singh Tamang, Chief Minister of Sikkim, following their respective election victories. 

In his congratulatory messages, the Dalai Lama acknowledged the progress and development achieved by both Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim over the years. He expressed hope that both Chief Ministers will continue to work towards improving the lives of the less privileged in their states. “He observed that over the years, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim have made tremendous strides in development and prosperity. His Holiness expressed the hope that both Chief Ministers will continue to strive to improve the lives of those who are less privileged,” the statement released by his office stated.

The octogenarian leader also conveyed his best wishes to both ministers, encouraging them to successfully address the challenges that may arise as they fulfil the hopes and aspirations of the people in their respective states.

In addition, Penpa Tsering, President of the exile Tibetan government, known officially as the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), also congratulated the Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. He posted on X, “Hearty congrats to Hon. @PemaKhanduBJP la. The resounding mandate you’ve gained echoes the trust the people of Arunachal Pradesh place in your leadership. Wish you continued success in bringing happiness & prosperity to Arunachal Pradesh. Grateful for your support & friendship.”

Sikyong Penpa Tsering also wrote,  “On behalf of the CTA & Tibetan people, I extend heartfelt congratulations to Hon. @PSTamangGolay Ji. Your sincere dedication & commitment to serving the people of Sikkim have earned you this remarkable mandate. Wishing you continued success in advancing the prosperity of Sikkim.”

Voting was held for 60 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh. According to the Election Commission, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by Chief Minister Pema Khandu returned to power for the third consecutive term, winning 46 seats. The National People’s Party (NPP) won five seats, the People’s Party of Arunachal secured two seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won three seats, the Congress won one seat, and Independent candidates won three seats.

In Sikkim, voting was held for 32 assembly seats. The ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), led by Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang, won 31 seats, while the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) won one seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *