News and Views on Tibet

Dalai Lama receives the Ramon Magsaysay Award in person after 64 years

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
His Holiness the Dalai Lama with Foundation trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award presenting him the award in person after 64 years after its conferement. April 26, 2023 in Dharamshala (Photo/Tenzin Choejor/OHHDL)

By Tsering Dhundup

DHARAMSHALA, April 26: Tibetan spiritual leader, His Holiness the Dalai Lama received the Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honour in person after 64 years since it was conferred to him at his residence in Dharamshala on Wednesday.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award was first awarded to His Holiness on August 31, 1959 for community leadership. It was received by the Dalai Lama’s brother Gyalo dhundup in Manila, the capital of the Philippines.

Dalai Lama, who was unable to receive the award personally then due to the turmoil caused by CCP wrote in response to the award “I welcome this great honour not only because the Award is associated with the name of one of your illustrious leaders but also because I feel that it affords unmistakable evidence of your interest in the welfare of my people. I have no doubt that the people of Tibet, confronted by this dark hour of despair and distress, can depend on your sympathy and support in their grim struggle for peace and freedom.

“I would have gladly taken this opportunity to pay a visit to your great country but unfortunately, sad and tragic circumstances prevent me from doing so. However, I cherish the hope that one day in the near future I shall be able to fulfil this desire.”

During his audience with the members of the RMAF, the president of the foundation Susan Afan mentioned, he was the youngest awardee aged just 24. The foundation is celebrating its 65th anniversary on November 11, 2023 and is launching a book which includes stories of love, courage, service and hope. His Holiness was asked for a message to be added in the book.

The RMAF has awarded 344 recipients for their contributions and impact on six different fields: government service; public service; community leadership; journalism; literature, and Creative Communication Arts; Peace and International understanding and emergent leadership. Some notable winners of the award from India are Ravish Kumar (journalist), Sonam Wangchuk (educationalist and climate activist) and Bezwada Wilson ( Indian activist).

2 Responses

  1. We all can say without any doubts that the boards who present the Ramon Magsaysay awards are very far sighted and learned people. As the first award was presented to HH the Dalai Lama, it should be the first such awards from any international organization to HH the Dalai Lama but now without any doubts that HH the Dalai Lama may be the only leader with most awards of all different countries and organizations including the Nobel peace prize, the congressional gold medal, Templeton prize and Ahimsa award and other countless honorary awards to him.

  2. Phuntsok Wandu is a character from Indian film ‘3 idiots’. His real name is Sonam Wangchuk. Please correct it. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *