News and Views on Tibet

Two new parliamentarians sworn in

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Parliamentarians Sonam Wangmo (L) and Tsering Dolma (R) sworn in as members of the 16th TPiE on Monday (Photo- VOT)

By Choekyi Lhamo

DHARAMSHALA, May 3: Following the resignation of MP Lobsang Dakpa (Dotoe) and MP Gyari Thar (Domey) from the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-exile earlier last month, two replacement parliamentarians Tsering Dolma (Dotoe) and Sonam Wangmo (Domey) took oath of office as representatives of their constituencies on Monday.

Deputy Speaker Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok administered the oath of office to the new members in accordance with Article 57, clauses (1) and (2) and Article 47 of the Charter of Tibetans-in-Exile. The new parliamentarians were first in line in the waiting list of the 2016 election results maintained by the Central Tibetan Administration’s Election Commission.

The Deputy Speaker addressed the brief ceremony by congratulating the two women parliamentarians on behalf of the standing committee, “The two parliamentarians accepted the crucial roles despite the prevailing pandemic and imposed restrictions. It is an opportunity for all of us to work for the best of our cause as the term of the parliament comes to a close.” Both the elected members were handed over official documents and publications from the Deputy Speaker after the ceremony.

MP Tsering Dolmafrom Shillong has served as an executive committee member of the Regional Tibetan Youth Congress (RTYC) and also as a member of the Regional Tibetan Women’s Association (RTWA). MP Sonam Wangmo from Dhondupling settlement, Dehradun, has served as a member of the Domey Executive Committee of Dehradun from 1997-2002 and has also served as the secretary of the Central Domey Association from 2006 to 2009.

Both the MPs participated in the recently concluded 2021 TPiE elections, and have secured required votes to represent their constituencies in the 17th Tibetan parliament, according to the vote counts tabulated by media outlets. The official results of both the Sikyong and Chithue election will be announced on May 14.

The two new lawmakers will participate in the one-day additional session of the 16th TPiE to be held on May 20, if the house can achieve the necessary quorum to convene the session.  

One Response

  1. What do the four new parliamentarians as replacements for four resignations from 16th. Tibetan Parliament think about the judiciary branch of Tibetan Democracy being destroyed by 16th.parliament? Do they or who of them approve or disapprove this parliamentarian action? They know now it was an illegal action and what will be thier take on 20th. May,2021?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *