New Members Join the Standing Committee of Exile Tibetan Legislature
TibetNet[Saturday, June 04, 2005 03:27]
Dharamsala, June 3 - The Assembly of Tibetan People's Deputies (ATPD) has replaced four deputies of its 12-member Standing Committee.

The new members are Ven. Thupten Phelge (Gelug tradition), Mrs. Ngawang Lhamo (U-tsang), Mr. T.T. Karma Choephel (U-tsang) and Mr. Tenzin Gonpo (Do-med).

They will replace Mr. Beri Jigme Wangyal, Mr. Ugyen Tenzin, Mrs. Dolma Tsering and Mrs. Phurbu Dolma from the respective constituencies.

Other members of the Standing Committee, excluding the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the ATPD, are Mr. Dawa Tsering (direct nominee), Ven. Tsering Phuntsok (Nyingma tradition), Mr. Sonam Damdul (Kagyue tradtion), Ven. Yungdrung Gyaltsen (Bonpo), Mr. Sonam Topgyal (Do-toe) and Mr. Gyalrong Dawa Tsering (Do-med).

The Assembly of the Tibetan People's Deputies is a democratically elected legislature of the exiled Tibetans. It has a total of 46 members. Of them, 43 are directly elected by the Tibetan people, and three members with distinction in the fields of art, science, literature and community service, are nominated directly by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

When the ATPD is not in session, the Standing Committee is vested with all its functions and powers except those concerning judicial and financial business.

The members of Standing Committee, who are elected by the deputies of their respective constituencies for one-year term, comprise of two members from each province, one from each religious denomination and one directly nominated by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.