Hi guest, Register | Login | Contact Us
Welcome to Phayul.com - Our News Your Views
Sat 16, Nov 2019 01:41 AM (IST)
Search:     powered by Google
Photo News
Statements &
Press Releases

Book Reviews
Movie Reviews
News Discussions
News Archives
Download photos from Tibet
 Latest Stories
Kashag mute on delay in issuing official apology in Case no. 20
CTA rejects Chinese Ambassador’s claim over reincarnation of Buddhist masters
China plans its own Yellowstone on the Tibetan Plateau
Dalai Lama wishes former US President Jimmy Carter swift recovery
His Holiness interacts with members of Young Presidents’ Organisation (YPO) from Nepal
“Go back China” say protestors in Nepal against Chinese encroachment
Tibetan man detained on the eve of Uprising day for WeChat post
Tibetan Monk detained for "political" post on WeChat in Ngaba
Tibetan man sentenced for sharing teachings of Dalai Lama through Wechat
Dalai Lama interacts with students, community leaders from Washington
 Latest Photo News
Shrutika Sharma from Nainital, Uttrakhand, wins the Miss Himalaya Pageant 2019, seen with her are first runners up Shalika Rana and second runners up Sapna Devi. Oct. 13, 2019 Phayu Photo: Kunsang Gashon
Nearly 3000 Students from eight countries listened to teachings of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Three day annual teachings for youth began today. June 3, 2019. Phayul Photo: Kunsang Gashon
His Holiness the Dalai Lama is being escorted to the teaching site at Tsuglakhang temple, May 13, 2019. Phayul Photo: Kunsang Gashon
more photos »
New Members Join the Standing Committee of Exile Tibetan Legislature
TibetNet[Saturday, June 04, 2005 03:27]
Dharamsala, June 3 - The Assembly of Tibetan People's Deputies (ATPD) has replaced four deputies of its 12-member Standing Committee.

The new members are Ven. Thupten Phelge (Gelug tradition), Mrs. Ngawang Lhamo (U-tsang), Mr. T.T. Karma Choephel (U-tsang) and Mr. Tenzin Gonpo (Do-med).

They will replace Mr. Beri Jigme Wangyal, Mr. Ugyen Tenzin, Mrs. Dolma Tsering and Mrs. Phurbu Dolma from the respective constituencies.

Other members of the Standing Committee, excluding the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the ATPD, are Mr. Dawa Tsering (direct nominee), Ven. Tsering Phuntsok (Nyingma tradition), Mr. Sonam Damdul (Kagyue tradtion), Ven. Yungdrung Gyaltsen (Bonpo), Mr. Sonam Topgyal (Do-toe) and Mr. Gyalrong Dawa Tsering (Do-med).

The Assembly of the Tibetan People's Deputies is a democratically elected legislature of the exiled Tibetans. It has a total of 46 members. Of them, 43 are directly elected by the Tibetan people, and three members with distinction in the fields of art, science, literature and community service, are nominated directly by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

When the ATPD is not in session, the Standing Committee is vested with all its functions and powers except those concerning judicial and financial business.

The members of Standing Committee, who are elected by the deputies of their respective constituencies for one-year term, comprise of two members from each province, one from each religious denomination and one directly nominated by His Holiness the Dalai Lama.
Print Send Bookmark and Share
  Readers' Comments »
Be the first to comment on this article

 Other Stories
Four Teams Exit from GCM
Photo Galleries
Phayul.com does not endorse the advertisements placed on the site. It does not have any control over the google ads. Please send the URL of the ads if found objectionable to editor@phayul.com
Copyright © 2004-2019 Phayul.com   feedback | advertise | contact us
Powered by Lateng Online